Amy Gabrielle's Substack
Amy Gabrielle's Substack
Dear Plucky Millennial For Harris-Walz
29
0:00
-2:41

Dear Plucky Millennial For Harris-Walz

Your Older Gen X Sister Is Triggered By Your Optimism
29

Lil’ sis, we gotta talk. No, it’s not about who’s hotter, Rob Lowe or Freddy Prinze Jr., it’s your enthusiasm about the 2024 presidential election. Don’t get too cocky, it’s been eight years since that fateful November day back in 2016 and I still have PTSD flashbacks.

Sis, once upon a time I was just like you, busting at my pantsuit seams in anticipation of the first woman president of the United States! It was a done deal, all except for the actual voting, but wasn’t that supposed to be just a formality?

We all assumed that an educated woman with a proven record of public service would easily defeat a bankrupt real estate developer and alleged con man, right? Okay, so he wasn’t a convicted felon back then, but wasn’t that implied?

Overflowing with excitement, Gen X women created an entire nation in solidarity with Hillary Clinton’s wardrobe aesthetic. Our merry group in bright fuchsia and electric blue dominated Facebook, then in its heyday.

Pantsuit Nation was born of our perimenopausal blood, hot flash sweat, and the tears of our mother’s unrealized potential. Our jackhammers were poised to smash the White House’s glass ceiling once and for all.

I was awash in the sweet smell of victory and fabric softener as I cast my vote in the converted multipurpose space, across the hall from my building’s laundry room where I had two loads in the dryer.

“Hahaha!” Maniacal laughter filled my head as I thought, “We cannot lose!”

I don’t have to tell you what happened next. To be honest, I’ve blocked out most of the last eight years. Hell, I don’t even remember who Hillary Clinton’s running mate was (note to Tim Walz, soak up the limelight while you still can).

Of course I’m going to vote for Kamala Harris, I’m just tempering my excitement with the bitter taste of charcoaled steak and the Democratic party’s tasteless and ungrateful use of Stormy Daniels as a punchline to their sad jokes during the DNC.

The bottom line is that I love you sis, and I don’t want to see you get your heart and spirit broken like mine were. Now get out there and campaign like the future of our humanity depends on it, but no pressure!

Love,
Your Gen X Big Sister <3

Discussion about this podcast

Amy Gabrielle's Substack
Amy Gabrielle's Substack
Midlife, widowed mom to one tween boy. I write about some of the crazy sh*t grief made me do after my husband died from cancer in 2021.